Irish Election Literature

… what you maybe meant to keep…

John McDermott- Roscommon Hospital Action Committee -Roscommon-South Leitrim- 2011 GE February 11, 2011

A flyer, sticker and Sorry I misssed you card from John McDermott who is running for the Roscommon Hospital Action Committee in the 2011 General election in Roscommon South Leitrim.
The Roscommon Hospital Action Committee was founded in 1976. Tom Foxe was a TD from 1989 to 1997 representing the RHAC. It currently has two councillors on Roscommon County Council.
It is still a major issue, in 2007 the now Labour candidate John Kelly ran with the backing of the RHAC. There have been a number of protests recently and almost all local politicians would have been at the protests.
It will be interesting to see if John McDermott can capitalise on this to win a seat.
Many thanks to the sender



‘Tips for Canvassers’ from Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan -Independent -Roscommon South Leitrim February 8, 2011

From the 2011 General Election campaign a ‘Tips for Canvassers’ leaflet produced by Independent candidate running in Roscommon South Leitrim, Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan. Flanagan is seen as having a good chance of winning a seat. His Website


Flyer for John Kelly-Labour -Roscommon South Leitrim February 7, 2011

From the 2011 General Election Campaign a flyer for Labour candidate John Kelly running Roscommon South Leitrim. Kelly previously ran as an Independent (flyer here) and was recruited by Eamon Gilmore to the Labour fold in 2010.
Many thanks to the sender



Flyer for Ivan Connaughton -Fianna Fail-Roscommon South Leitrim-2011 General Election February 6, 2011

From the 2011 General Election a flyer for Fianna Fail candidate Ivan Connaughton running in Roscommon South Leitrim.
Many thanks to the sender



“No Slíabh Bán Wind Farm” Leaflet -October 2010 October 10, 2010

Filed under: protest,Roscommon — irishelectionliterature @ 8:30 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

From October 2010 a “No Slíabh Bán Wind Farm” Leaflet. Slíabh Bán is near Strokestown in Roscommon and there has been a campaign against the erection of the Wind Farm for the past while.
They have a Facebook page.
Many thanks to the sender.


Dermot Kelly -Fine Gael -Athlone 2009 LE September 28, 2010

From the 2009 Local Elections for Roscommon County Council a flyer for Fine Gael candidate Dermot Kelly running in Athlone. Despite polling 555 votes he failed to win a seat.



Laurence Fallon -Fine Gael -2009 LE Mid Roscommon September 15, 2010

From the 2009 Local Elections a flyer for Fine Gael candidate Laurence Fallon running for Roscommon County Council.
Fallon and his Fine Gael Colleague Dominick Connolly  were both elected.



Paula McNamara -Roscommon Hospital Action Committee-Mid Roscommon 2009 LE July 17, 2010

From the 2009 Local Elections a leaflet for Roscommon Hospital Action Committee candidate Paula McNamara. She was comfortably elected.
The HAC came to national prominence in 1987 when their candidate Eithne Quinn polled over 4000 votes. Two years later in 1989 Tom Foxe was elected to the Dail and he held his seat until 1997.
In 2002 Una Quinn stood and in 2007 Independent candidate John Kelly ( who recently joined Labour) stood with the endorsement of the HAC.
They have held council seats in Roscommon for over 20 years.



Flyer from recent Labour recruit John Kelly welcoming Eamon Gilmore to Roscommon. July 13, 2010

A flyer from recent Labour recruit John Kelly.Introducing himself as a Labour Party man and also welcoming Eamon Gilmore to Roscommon.
John Kellys 2007 Flyer when running as an Independent.

Many thanks to the sender.



Fianna Fail 1981 General Election-Sean Doherty , Terry Leyden -Roscommon May 21, 2010

From the 1981 General Election a leaflet fro Fianna Fail candidates Sean Doherty and Terry Leyden.
At the start of a decade where emigration was rife Haughey writes…
• That the best possible Educational. Recreational and Employment Opportunities will he provided for our young people.

Hitting out at Liberal Ireland he writes…
That the traditional values and standards of our society, which are under threat. will be defended and preserved.
and that
Fianna Fail is the only party that can be trusted to cherish and safeguard the traditional values and ideals of the Irish people



Garreth McDaid – Green Party -Roscommon South-Leitrim 2007 GE May 12, 2010

From the 2007 General Election a leaflet from Garreth McDaid running for the Green Party in Roscommon South Leitrim.
He polled 836 votes and failed to win a seat.
Garreth McDaid is son of Fianna Fail TD Jim McDaid.



Count Plunkett Election Badge 1918 (?) Roscommon May 2, 2010

An election badge for Count Plunkett from either the 1917 by election or 1918 General Election ( “Election of the Snows”) for the Roscommon constituency where he was returned.
Many thanks to Liam Byrne


Denis Naughten -Fine Gael -1997 General Election Longford-Roscommon April 22, 2010

From the 1997 General Election the then 24 year old Senator Denis Naughten running for Fine Gael in Longford-Roscommon. He was comfortably elected , as he has been since.
Denis Naughten is son of the Late Liam Naughten, the former Fine Gael Roscommon TD.

Many thanks to Liam Byrne.



Rachel Doherty -Fianna Fail -2009 LE -Boyle Roscommon March 28, 2010

From the 2009 local elections, Fianna Fail candidate Rachel Doherty running in the Boyle electoral area.
Rachel Doherty , daughter of former Fianna Fail TD and minister Sean Doherty, was first elected in 2004 and was returned again in 2009.
(With thanks to Liam Byrne)



Tom Crosby- Independent -2004 LE Roscommon March 14, 2010

From the 2004 Local elections, Independent candidate Tom Crosby running in the Strokestown LEA for Roscommon County Council. Tom Crosby was initially elected as a Fianna Fail councillor in 1991. He has been re-elected to the council ever since.



John Connor -Fine Gael -1989 Roscommon-East Galway March 13, 2010

From the 1989 General election, Fine Gael candidate John Connor. He was elected here in 1989 and again in 1992 in the Longford-Roscommon constituency. He lost his seat in the 1997 elections and failed to regain it in 2002.



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,232 other followers

%d bloggers like this: